Projects

On this page, we walk you through everyday operations for interacting with projects via the web platform. For more general information about projects, please see the Projects on DNAnexus guide.

Operations

Create new project

You can create a project by clicking on the + New Project button on the home page after logging in. Enter the desired project name and select the project’s billing account.

Screenshot of new project dialog with optional settings section not expanded

You can set additional settings at the time of project creation by clicking on the "Optional Settings" bar. This will expand the dialog where you’ll be able to write a short description for the project, add tags and properties to facilitate easier search, and set up project policies.

Screenshot of new project dialog with optional settings section expanded

Back to top of page

Share project with collaborators

To share a project with a user or org, click Share in the upper right corner of the project page.

The resulting dialog box shows the current list of project members and lets you add a new member:


  1. Type the username or the email address of an existing DNAnexus user (_e.g. user-smithj_) or an org (_e.g. org-dnanexus_) (1).
  2. Pick an access level (2).
  3. Click Add Member.
  4. Repeat the above steps to add more users.

For more details about sharing projects, please see this section in the projects guide.

Back to top of page

Remove collaborators from project

To remove a user or org from a project in which you have ADMINISTER access, click Share in the upper right corner of the project page. The resulting dialog box shows the current list of project members.

You can remove a user by going to the row with the username you want to remove and clicking the "Remove" link on the right-hand side of that dialog.

Screenshot of project share dialog with 'Remove' link highlighted

Back to top of page

Transfer project to a user

To transfer a project to another user, click on the gear icon next to the Manage tab in the project header.

Screenshot of project settings gear icon in project header

On the settings page, next to the "Billed to" field, you can select "Transfer to Another User".

Screenshot of project settings page with ‘Transfer to Another User’ highlighted

This will open the following dialog for you to enter the email address or username of the transfer recipient, the user you want to transfer the project to.

Screenshot of Transfer Project Ownership dialog where users enter the email address or username of the project recipient

When you click on "Send Transfer Request", the recipient will receive an email notifying them that you have requested to transfer a project. The recipient will then have to log into the platform and accept the transfer.

Note: Please note that the transfer is not complete until the recipient has accepted the transfer request.

Back to top of page

Cancelling a project transfer

If you change your mind after sending a project transfer request and the recipient has not yet accepted the transfer, you may cancel the request. To do this, navigate to the project and you will see a "Pending Project Ownership Transfer" notification in the project header. Click on the orange "Cancel Transfer" button to cancel the transfer.

Screenshot of pending project ownership transfer header from perspective of project owner

Back to top of page

Transfer project to an org

To transfer a project to an org, please follow the instructions in the Org Member Guide.

Back to top of page

Accept project transfer request

When another user initiates a project transfer to you, you’ll receive a project transfer request via an email notification and in your list of notifications in the platform header. If you do not already have access to the project being transferred, you will be given VIEW access to the project and it will show up in your projects list. When navigating into the project, you will see a "Pending Project Ownership Transfer" notification in the project header.

Screenshot of pending project ownership transfer header from perspective of project owner

To accept the transfer, click on the "Accept Transfer" button which will open a new dialog. You can then select a new billing account for the project from the dropdown of eligible accounts.

Screenshot of Accept Project Transfer dialog and selecting account to bill the project to

Back to top of page

Last edited by Thanh-Ha Nguyen (tnguyen), 2016-02-24 20:52:38

 Feedback